Postcards from Maine

I’ve always admired Mallory for her blogging stamina, she has close to ten blogs and tumblrs (you can find a full list of them here) and each is a delight. I’m not sure how she does it as I struggle with just keeping my blog and tumblr going. We also share a love for illustration, her Illustrated Ladies and Illustrated Gents tumblrs are a daily source of inspiration. Without further ado, here is a snippet of lovely things from the lady herself:

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I’ve spent most of my life living in Maine and I love the place, so when I recently found a bunch of vintage postcards from my home state in the Boston Public Library’s flickr account I was psyched.

I especially love the card for the Hotel Samoset – the same hotel is still around (now called the Samoset Resort) and I was actually in a friend’s wedding there last summer.

The Old Orchard Beach card is pretty great too, although the pier looks a lot classier than it does now (these days it’s pretty much a tourist trap).

If you live in the US (or just like old postcards), you should go check out the other states the Boston Public Library has cards from. A few of my favorites from other non-Maine states:

This entry was posted in uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Postcards from Maine

  1. I love Maine. I spent my summers there when I was child. Awesome find!
    dede
    http://www.vintageandflea.com

  2. fuggiamo says:

    love these postcards!! i just returned from my first outing to maine, and i want to return asap.

Leave a Reply

