Book List

When I was in university I did my honours degree in English Literature. Back then I was living in libraries and plowing through at least a book a week. It was rather splendid.

Sadly, now that I am working full-time I don’t have that much time to read. So I’ve set myself a reading list for this year. Nothing too demanding- a book a month.

Please feel free to give me suggestions. Here it is:

JanuaryThe Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova (nearly finished…its a good one)

FebruarySunset Park by Paul Auster (my favourite author)

MarchNever Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro ( I can’t wait to see the film adaptation)

AprilMadame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert (a classic I have yet to read)

MayFreedom by Johnathan Franzen

JuneThe Bonfire of the Vanities by Tom Wolfe

JulyBirdsong by Sebastian Faulks (some good historical fiction)

AugustJonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

SeptemberJust Kids by Patti Smith (sex, drugs and rock and roll)

OctoberThe Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch

NovemberThe Bang Bang Club by Greg Marinovich and Joao Silva

DecemberThe Essential Ernest Hemmingway (I love the way this bearded man writes)

This entry was posted in books/magazines/publishing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Book List

  1. jelena says:

    what a nice list miss. thank you for the reading ideas.

  2. ana b says:

    This is a great reading list! In fact, I have that new Elizabeth Kostova which is still lying unloved and unread. I’ve just finished Sunday Daffodil and Other Happy Endings by P Robert Smith. Short, sprightly, and lots of fun.

  3. nanne says:

    i’m assuming since you’re reading the swan thieves you have read the historian…if not, you must. it’s a great creepy, well researched and original work….october is a great month for it.

    nanne in indiana by way of alabama

  4. Stephanie says:

    The Bang Bang Club is a must, bloody harrowing – I don’t think the new film version will do them justice. I have tried and tried to read Jonathon Strange and Mr Norrell. It is a monster of a book! And I shall get on to Amazon for the Swan Thieves asap….

  5. i’m reading the sea, the sea right now. kind of slow but i’m pushing through. i also read and enjoyed the swan thieves a few months ago, attempted several years ago to read madame bovary and have heard good things about just kids.

  6. Amelia says:

    Cath, what a stunning list! And I am so pleased to see Jonothan Strange and Mr Norrell there! It is one of my Top 5 favourite books of ALL TIME! As a suggestion, although you’d have to order them online as they’re a little hard to come by, is the Temeraire Series…I got into the first book last year and have enjoyed them immensely! Great writing, very English, totally loveable characters….the premise is Napoleonic War Era, on the side of the British….with DRAGONS as the aerial corps of the armies! Do not be put off by the ‘fantasy’ element, although there are dragons the rest of the story has no hint of fantasy, magic etc. which makes it so believable and completely wonderful….they really are such grea books, well-written and historically interesting….Peter Jackson is actually in the process of making the first books into a film!
    (sorry this post has turned into a tome!)

  7. dizzle says:

    i just recently found your blog and i’m really enjoying it! opening my eyes to some new things. i like your book list, i always have such a hard time finding things i want to read but the swan thieves, just kids & and bang bang club are definitely going on my list! thanks!

  8. March 17th says:

    Hi there what a wonderful selection. I studied Flaubert at university and his work is amazing. I am sure you have read New York Trilogy – one of the books in ‘fairly’ recent times that blew my socks off ! This may be a little random but I read this at Christmas and just loved it : The Year 1000 by Robert Lacey and Danny Danziger. great list enjoy !

Leave a Reply

