Norwegian Wood

Last night I watched the film adaptation of Haruki Murakami‘s popular novel Norwegian Wood, which is set in Japan in the 1960s. If you have followed this blog for awhile you’ll know I’m a fan of his economical writing. Needless to say I was quite excited to watch it.

I had forgotten how melancholic the plot was (I guess most Murakami books are). But the movie was beautifully shot and a relatively good interpretation of the novel. While the aesthetics of the movie drew me in more than the acting, I think anyone who liked the novel would probably appreciate the movie on some level.

Images via: screenrush and hot movie trends aggregator

This entry was posted in film/tv/music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Norwegian Wood

  1. Aubrey says:

    I’m reading 1Q84 right now and I love it so much. It’s the first novel of his I’ve read. Can’t wait to read Norwegian Wood and then see the movie!

  2. katsasleep says:

    My favourite was always the wind up bird chronicles, and his short stories, I started to watch the movie (without having read the book first) and found it incredibly boring. 😦 I think I probably would have appreciated it more if i read Norwegian wood first, but honestly I couldn’t even finish the movie. I will have to save it for a rainy day, and give it another go, perhaps after reading the book. 😀

  3. Pingback: To Watch: Deutschland 83 |

Leave a Reply

