Talented Friends – Margot Molyneux + A Giveaway!

Margot Molyneux  is a talented fashion designer whose comfortable and interesting clothing caught my eye well before I met her. I remember my first purchase was a black and white dress with an interesting sailor collar – it remains one of my favourite clothing items. In short, her clothing is as awesome as she is (which is very awesome).

back_pleat_-_flesh_3_940_wide

Her label turned two years old recently, which also coincided with the launch of her online store. I asked her a few questions about her lovely self and her clothes. She has also kindly offered to give away one of her beautiful creations. Scroll down for more information on how to win!

home_930W

Tell us a little about yourself.

I was born in Cape Town and have lived here all my life. I love this city and am excited to be a part of growing our local design industry.

 

How did you get into fashion design?

I was unsure about what to study after school and fell into fashion design. I had had an interest for sewing and creating things for a couple of years so enjoyed the course. When I finished I was once again unsure of which path to take, however I was encouraged to try my own label. It soon became something I took quite seriously and has since grown into my full time job. I believe very strongly in local design and production. We have so many talented, skilled people in this city and to be able to provide some work in this exciting growing country of ours, makes me very proud to be a small business owner.

black and white dresses

0796_610W

What type of person do you design for?

“We design for women who want to feel good and comfortable in the clothes they wear everyday. We try to produce items that are appealing to older as well as younger ladies, items which are striking, yet simple and easy to wear. We keep our prices affordable, allowing for women of different ages and backgrounds to appreciate local design.”

 

Describe your creative process, how do you go about creating a collection?

There are many factors that go into creating a new collection, but as we are a ready to wear brand, we do look at past styles to get hints of what our market appreciate. We are not a very trend based label, rather looking to satisfy the need for classic items in your wardrobe. We usually choose colours and fabrics and design styles from there. Aside from the silhouette, fabric choice is very important to us.

coco dress

Tell us about your latest collection.

Our latest collection is a transition between Summer and Autumn. We tried to focus on femininity, without being too overt. Interesting length dresses, flared sleeves and high necklines are factors we focused on in order to emphasize different parts of the body.

 

What is your dream project?

I would love to one day own a store/ studio space where people can come, collaborate with exhibitions as well as shop, while being able to view and appreciate the skills that go into producing each item.

 

Any exciting projects in the works?

We are about to receive our first batch of printed fabric. We had a custom print designed for us by local textile designer, Tiphaine Alston. We are very excited to make some products from our very own print. We have also just launched our online store, with some new items for Autumn as well as existing favourites, which we hope will be able to broaden our horizon of customers to more cities in our country and abroad.

margot shirts

HOW TO WIN:

Margot has recently started a non-profit project called the Poncho Project, which aims to create fleece ponchos for homeless people in Cape Town who have to endure the cold winter months outdoors.

The ponchos will be distributed through Haven Night Shelter in Greenpoint, that provides shelter to approximately 210 people every night.  If you have R60 to spare I urge you  to donate to the project – just think about all the good samaritan points you’ll get.

All you need to do to win is to like the Poncho Project on Facebook and leave a comment on this post about what shirt you would like to receive (please include your size).

Winners will be announced on 15 April 2013.

 

This entry was posted in fashion, south african creatives, talented friends and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Talented Friends – Margot Molyneux + A Giveaway!

  1. Priscilla P says:

    Liked Poncho Project on fb as priscilla.phitsanoukane.
    I love the loose collar shirt in white! Already dreaming of the pants and skirts to wear with it 🙂

  2. *Wisher* says:

    Hi Wolfeyebrows,
    Thank you for organizing a Giveaway. I’ve liked the post over Facebook.
    Would love to win the Red Top, it looked so bright and cheerful which is great for summer.
    Thank you and have a good day ahead.

  3. Emily says:

    What a lovely idea, I hope this initiative goes from strength to strength.

    I’m in love with Margot Molyneux clothes. Saw her fashion show at the Design Indaba and loved everything! Would happily spend days wearing “SHIRT flesh” shirt, walking on CT beaches and drinking sparkly wine on Signal Hill. (Size small, @em_skye)

  4. Sara del Rio says:

    Amazing initiative! It’s great to know about Margot Molyneux. I’m in love with the dresses and shirts 🙂
    I don’t know if she ships to Portugal but anyway I would love to own the watermelon size L.
    Hope they accomplish the 50 ponchos!!

  5. Catherine says:

    loose collar/white/small

  6. amymolony says:

    Love the loose collar shirt in white! its an absolute staple for any wardrobe! size is medium.

  7. Leila says:

    Love the red shirt. I’m a big fan of Margot Molyneux (large)

  8. rivernik says:

    Thnxs for the giveaway
    I Love the SHIRT flesh 😀 size S

  9. Robyn Hunter says:

    I have been an avid supporter on Margot Molyneux since I discovered the brand in CT, now everytime I see something in JHB I have to buy it. I love the watermelon top, size medium 🙂

  10. AlexAlice says:

    Yes please! Black collar in a small.

  11. flesh colored shirt please in small!

  12. Jane says:

    The white shirt please – medium.

  13. What a neat project! Liked, and would love to see a navy front pleat shirt (size M) hanging in my closet.

    xo, Kate (kate@unionjackcreative.com)

  14. This is fantastic. I’m heading to Cape Town for a conference this June, and am really looking forward to learning more about these designers and artists that are popping up on my blog feed 🙂 I would love the black loose collar shirt, (small) to wear to aforementioned conference! xx

  15. jeane says:

    Page liked!
    FRONT PLEAT SHIRT white – Small
    Thank you x

  16. Mieneke says:

    Hi! Love the project and your clothes! I’d love a flesh coloured shirt;)

  17. Mieneke says:

    In a medium

  18. hpaulding5 says:

    Front pleat shirt navy medium:)
    Liked ponch project via Heather paulding
    http://spunkyrealdeal.blogspot.com/

  19. Angie says:

    Oooh I would love the black shirt please. It’s beautiful just like all Margot’s clothes.

    Going to like the poncho Facebook page now.

    X

  20. Kelsie Garcia says:

    Great project and beautiful clothing. I love the Loose Collar Shirt in Black size Small.

  21. Hannah says:

    Black Loose collar shirt Please! (Medium) I liked the Poncho Project FB page, such a great idea!

  22. 최다해 gongjumonica says:

    I love the white one in small/extra small/smallest size 🙂

  23. fortunajda says:

    they are all gorgeous!…but front pleat shirt (navy) is my favourite…size S…
    i will continue to follow margot via facebook…

  24. Oh how lovely and what a great project! A watermelon shirt in small would be right up my alley.

Leave a Reply

